[Skip to Content]
HWDSB Building


A+ A-

Reverand John C. Holland Awards
Deadline:  January 15, 2020, 11:59pm
The Hamilton Black History Committee is excited to announce that applications for the 2020 Reverend John C. Holland Awards are now open!  Youth Achievement scholarship and bursary application forms can be found at www.johnhollandawards.com/applications.  The deadline for submission is Wednesday, January 15, 2020, at 11:59 p.m.

Johnson Insurance Scholarship Program
At Johnson, we understand the challenges faced by students during their pursuit of higher education, and we are proud to offer scholarships to help them achieve their dreams. Since 1998, Johnson has awarded over 1,500 scholarships valued at more than $1 million to support young Canadians coast to coast in pursuing their post-secondary education. We are pleased to provide you information as to how your members’ children or grandchildren are able to apply for a scholarship from Johnson Insurance. Johnson Insurance is proud to offer 50 scholarships, valued at $1,000 each, to eligible students completing high school in 2019 and starting post-secondary in the fall of 2019. Visit https://www1.johnson.ca/scholarship to learn more and to apply today!

Essayontime Scholarship
Deadline:  December 1, 2019
If you wonder about where and how to find scholarships to sponsor your academic initiatives, here is good news. We are delighted to inform you that we are going to launch our scholarship contest to help students deal with their financial challenges. We are providing an opportunity to win $1000 intended for educational purposes and make your academic endeavors slightly easier. Moreover, by launching this contest, we want to emphasize the importance of education and provide our assistance in covering tuition, college books or equipment. How you will spend your money is up to you, the only condition is that it must be on education.

If you are ready to apply since you believe that this scholarship for high school seniors and college or university students is a good fit for you, you are welcome.  Click here for more information.

Federal Education Grants and Bonds
To help save for a child’s future studies, the Government of Canada provides two education savings incentives, which are deposited into a Registered Education Savings Plan (RESP). The Canada Education Savings Grant (CESG) consists of a basic amount of 20% on the first $2,500 in annual personal contributions to an RESP (this grant is available to all eligible beneficiaries regardless of family income), as well as the additional amount of Canada Education Savings Grant, which is:

  • 10% on the first $500 of annual personal contributions for children from families with an adjusted income greater than $46,605 and up to $93,208; or,
  • 20% on the first $500 of annual personal contributions for children from families with an adjusted income of $46,605 or less.
    CESG is available until the end of calendar year in which the beneficiary turns 17, and the maximum lifetime amount, including the additional amount of Canada Education Savings Grant, is $7,200.

The Canada Learning Bond (CLB) is available for eligible children from low-income families born in 2004 or later and provides an initial payment of $500 plus $100 for each year of eligibility, up to age 15, for a maximum of $2,000. Personal contributions are not required to receive the CLB.  RESPs are the only savings vehicle that attract the federal and, where applicable, provincial education savings incentives. The money saved in an RESP is not only used to help with tuition, but can also be used to pay for housing, transportation and other education-related expenses, such as textbooks, equipment, supplies, etc., once enrolled in post-secondary education. You will need you and your child’s SIN. Visit your bank and ask to open an RESP. Brochure




Back to the top