[Skip to Content]

Wismer Award for Coaching Excellence

A+ A-

Wismer Award for High School Coaching Excellence

John Wismer

John Wismer

The Wismer Award for High School Coaching Excellence was established in 2004 in co-operation with Hamilton- Wentworth District School Board (HWDSB) and Hamilton-Wentworth Catholic District School Board (HWCDSB). This award recognizes coaches who make significant contributions to the growth and continuing development of students and athletes.

We are excited to open nominations up again after a pandemic hiatus! The deadline for nominations has been extended to Thursday October 26th, 2023!

Click HERE for the Nomination form.  Nominations may come from anyone – students, colleagues, community partner, friends or HWDSB staff to recognize a community or staff coach!

Year HWDSB Recipient
2019 Annette Tonogai (Westdale Secondary School)
2018 Jim Weatherbee (Saltfleet High School)
2017 Jobina D’Aloisio (Waterdown District High School)
2016 Dave Walters (Westdale Secondary School)
2014 Bob Wynne (Ancaster High School)
2012 Tish Jeffrey (Glendale Secondary School)
2010 Wilf Reed (Ancaster High School)
2008 Brenda Nelson (Parkside)
2006 Gary Banting (Waterdown District High School)
2004 George Knill (Sir Winston Churchill Secondary School)
Updated on Monday, October 02, 2023.
Back to the top