[Skip to Content]

Team Mohawk tops Team MacMaster for bragging rights at HWDSB girls basketball all-star classic

[Skip to Content]
A+ A-

Team Mohawk tops Team MacMaster for bragging rights at HWDSB girls basketball all-star classic

2017-18 HWDSB Girls All Star ClassicHAMILTON (December 7, 2017) – For the second straight season, Team Mohawk topped Team McMaster at the HWDSB girls basketball all-star classic game earning a 78-70 win at Glendale Secondary School on Thursday night.

Saltfleet’s Kate McPhail was the games top scorer with 23 points while Jenna Button of Dundas Valley had 10 in the win for Team Mohawk. Heidi Nelson of Westdale had 12 points on the losing side for Team McMaster.

Similar to last season, Team Mohawk held the advantage all night earning a slim 12-10 lead after the first quarter and then built a seven-point 39-32 lead at the half. They maintained a lead the rest of the way with a 58-53 lead at the third quarter break and a final score of 78-70.

Westdale would sweep the player of the game awards with Clare Sutherland Case earning honours for Team Mohawk while Amy Stinson was the top player for Team McMaster.

The game featured 26 of the cities top student-athlete basketball players from the Hamilton public school board. It also was the second year the event was staged celebrating & highlighting girls basketball in Hamilton.

This year’s game was the second version of the which saw the school board team up with Mohawk College and McMaster University in helping present the game. Both post-secondary institutions provided varsity student-athletes to help coach the games with their head coaches on hand to present awards post game.

Team Rosters

Team McMaster University
Ancaster HS: Paige Bell, Jessica Holmes; Dundas Valley SS: Taylor Cumming; Glendale SS: Belma Boskovic; Orchard Park SS: Natasha Centurione; Saltfleet DHS: Sofia Djurcic; Sherwood SS: Abigail Oates; Waterdown DHS: Olivia Baker, Elizabeth Howlett; Westdale SS: Heidi Nelson, Jordan Denkers, Taylor Marof, Amy Stinson.

Coaches: Hilary Hanaka and Erin Burns

Team Mohawk College

Ancaster DHS: Tori Cramm; Dundas Valley SS: Jenna Button; Glendale SS: Tawny Yates; Saltfleet DHS: Quinn Hardy, Kate McPhail; Sherwood SS: Amber Hewitt; Sir Allan MacNab SS: Kyra Guzylak-Messam; Sir John A. Macdonald SS: Tionna Hull, Ruby Espinoza; Sir Winston Churchill SS: Brittney O’Rourke; Waterdown DHS: Elise Euale; Westdale SS: Patyon Marof; Claire Sutherland-Case

Coaches: Stef Hrymak, Shanien O’Neil, Jasmin Kucic and Emilee Champigny

Stay Connected with HWDSB Athletics
For schedules, results and news visit: http://www.hwdsb.on.ca/athletics or follow us on Twitter @HWDSB_athletics

Updated on Thursday, December 07, 2017.
Back to the top