[Skip to Content]
HWDSB Building

School Council

A+ A-

Welcome to Westmount Secondary School’s School Council

What is a School Council?


Under the Education Act Regulation 612 , school boards in Ontario are required to establish a School Council for each school within the board. The purpose of the School Council is “through the active participation of parents, to improve pupil achievement and to enhance the accountability of the education system to parents.


  • Advise the principal and, where appropriate, the school board
  • Place students’ interest first
  • Support school success planning goals
  • Encourage parent and community involvement
  • Promote positive attitudes towards public education

2023-2024 Meetings Dates:

  • September  25th
  • October 26th
  • November 20th
  • January 22nd
  • February 26th
  • March 21st
  • April 15th
  • May 27th

Time:    7 pm

Location:  We will be meeting virtually and in-person (hybrid model). If you are interested in attending please RSVP with Sandra Cardwell, [email protected]   A link will be emailed back to you to join us on MS Teams for this meeting.  If you would like to attend in-person we will be meeting in Room 1087/123.

Constitution and Elections:

[A revised Constitution will be uploaded soon]

School councils are governed by Ontario Regulation 612  which sets out the purpose, membership and election requirements for school councils. Under section 2(1),


Every school must have a School Council and members include:

  • Parents (must comprise the majority of the membership)
  • Principal
  • Teacher from the school
  • Student (in high schools with some provisions for student membership in elementary schools)
  • Non-teaching staff member
  • Community representative(s) appointed by the council
  • Home and School Association representative from the school (if a Home and School Association is a partner at the school.)


School Councils have voting members:

  • Chair or Co-Chairs (must be parent members)
  • Other possible roles (at the discretion of the Council)
  • Members (see above).  Note: Once voting membership is established, School Council must have quorum to vote. Quorum is 50% of the voting membership plus one.

2023-2024 Executives
Executives for the 2023-2024 School year is as follows:

Reasa Diab – Chair
Brandi Marcy – Co-Chair
Farah Kurji – Secretary
Kruti Desai – Backup Secretary
Updated on Thursday, October 12, 2023.
Back to the top