

Balaclava Elementary School

PROUD SCHOOL OF HAMILTON-WENTWORTH DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD

280 10th Concession E Freelton, Ontario L8B 1H6 Phone: 905.659.3396

Fax: 905.659.0901

EMAIL: balaclava@hwdsb.on.ca PRINCIPAL: Kelly Rizzo www.hwdsb.on.ca/balaclava

October 14th, 2020

Dear Families.

Every school in Ontario is required to have a School Council to work collaboratively with the Principal to improve student achievement and to enhance accountability with parents/caregivers.

We welcome all parents/caregivers who are willing to volunteer their time to participate in our School Council for the 2020-2021 school year. Usually we would meet in person at least 4 times throughout the school year to discuss school-wide interests that enhance our learning community. However, this year, due to Public Health restrictions meetings will be held virtually.

We are required to hold annual elections to identify voting members, including specific roles within Council, such as Treasurer, Secretary, and members at large. Elected members are able to vote on the ideas of the group and provide advisory suggestions to the Principal. To declare your interest in serving as an elected member we invite you to complete the nomination form below. All nominations must be received by October 21st 2020. Once nominations are received we will send out an invitation to our first MS Teams School Council meeting which will take place at 11:00 a.m. on October 27th Please note: only those in attendance may be elected to serve on our Council. We are going to try daytime meetings to start and will adjust based on what works best for Council membership.

You do not have to be an elected member of Council to attend meetings. We welcome all parents/caregivers to join us. Your ideas and questions help to make us better and participating is an excellent way to support your child/ren's education.

Thank you for your consideration. We look forward to working with you to make Balaclava the best place to learn.

Sincerely,

K. Rizzo Principal C. Hue Co-Chair E. Meanchoff Co-Chair

HWDS