[Skip to Content]
HWDSB Building

HWDSB Welcomes New Student Trustees for 2018-19 School Year

[Skip to Content]
A+ A-

HWDSB Welcomes New Student Trustees for 2018-19 School Year

Ancaster High’s Tara Rezvan and Sir John A. Macdonald’s Cameron Prosic were sworn in as Student Trustees for the 2018-19 school year at a Board meeting on Monday, May 14, 2018.

Student Trustees represent the voices and interests of all HWDSB students by bringing forward student perspectives and issues. At the Board table, Student Trustees may suggest motions to advance issues and may cast a non-binding vote. They also act as the co-chairs of HWDSB’s Student Senate.

“As always, we are thrilled to have two strong Student Trustees representing the voice of all our students,” said Paul Denomme, the Superintendent of Student Achievement who oversees student voice and Student Senate.

This year, 13 candidates applied for the positions. After an all-candidates general election assembly involving senior staff, Student Senate and Trustees, Student Senators selected Tara and Cameron as their representatives for the 2018-19 academic year.

Tara is entering Grade 12 in September and has been a strong student leader at Ancaster High School. Tara started a Grade 9 mentorship program and organized the Grade 9 Night, while also being an executive member of the Girl’s Athletic Association for three years. She also has served on the school’s student council for the past two years and has taken on the role of student leader in the newly founded Toast Masters club.

Starting Grade 11 in September, Cameron has been an active participant at Sir John A. Macdonald. He’s been a member of the water polo, badminton and track and field teams. Cameron is also the Audio Engineer for his school, where he supports the technical aspects of all stage productions. Cameron continues to demonstrate his advocacy for student voice as a member of student council and acting as the student representative on the New North Secondary School Transition Committee.

The term for the new Student Trustees will run from August 1, 2018 to July 31, 2019.

– 30 –

Media Contact:
Shawn McKillop, APR
Manager, Communications and Community Engagement
T: 905.527.5092 x2941 | C: 905.515.6227

Updated on Wednesday, June 13, 2018.
Back to the top