[Skip to Content]
HWDSB Building

HWDSB Officially Welcomes 2018-2022 Board of Trustees

[Skip to Content]
A+ A-

HWDSB Officially Welcomes 2018-2022 Board of Trustees

(From left to right) Alex Johnstone, Trustee for Wards 11 & 12, was elected Chair of the Board, and Dawn Danko, Trustee for Ward 7, was elected Vice-Chair.

Hamilton, Ontario – December 3, 2018: At its Inaugural Meeting, the Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board (HWDSB) welcomed five newly elected and six returning Trustees. HWDSB also extended congratulations to Alex Johnstone, Trustee for Ward 11 & 12, who was elected Chair of the Board, and Dawn Danko, Trustee for Ward 7, who was elected Vice-Chair.

“I am grateful for the support of my fellow Trustees and look forward to the opportunity to champion public education issues on behalf of HWDSB,” said Alex Johnstone, Chair of the Board. “As a Board of Trustees, we are excited to engage with our communities in a collaborative, inclusive and respectful manner to provide our students with all the opportunities and successes we can.”

The 2018-2022 HWDSB Board of Trustees include:

  • Christine Bingham, Wards 1 & 2
  • Chris Parkinson, Ward 3*
  • Ray Mulholland, Ward 4
  • Carole Paikin Miller, Ward 5*
  • Kathy Archer, Ward 6
  • Dawn Danko, Ward 7
  • Becky Buck, Ward 8 & 14*
  • Cam Galindo, Ward 9 & 10*
  • Alex Johnstone, Ward 11 & 12
  • Paul Tut, Ward 13*
  • Penny Deathe, Ward 15

An asterisk is assigned to the newly elected Trustees. A complete list of Board of Trustees is available at www.hwdsb.on.ca/about/trustees.

“On behalf of HWDSB’s 49,949 students and all of our employees, I welcome the new and returning Trustees to our team, where our collective mission is to empower students to learn and grow to their full potential in a diverse world,” said Manny Figueiredo, Director of Education. “Together, we will continue our focus on positive culture and well-being, student learning and achievement, effective communication, school renewal, and partnerships.”

School trustees are officials, elected to serve parents, students, taxpayers and the school system. They are the link between communities and the school board, ensuring Hamilton public schools meet the diverse needs of students in their communities. The Board also has two student trustees.

– 30 –

Media Contact:

Shawn McKillop, APR
Manager, Communications and Community Engagement
T: 905.527.5092 x2941 | C: 905.515.6227


Updated on Monday, December 31, 2018.
Back to the top