Ancaster High Banner

English

Last updated on Wednesday, September 09, 2015.

WELCOME TO THE ENGLISH DEPARTMENT

Words have a longer life than Deeds.”
– Pindar (522 BCE – 443 BCE)

About Us
The English Department blends together the traditional and contemporary in its various course  offerings.  All of the teachers are dedicated and enthusiastic about their subject, courses and classes.  In addition to our core classes, we are proud of our optional, and always popular, Grade 11 Media Studies and Grade 12 University Writer’s Craft courses.  We also offer Enriched English at the junior level and IB Language A1: literature and language in Grades 11 and 12.

Events
We are a dynamic and involved Department so please check back regularly for updates.

Arts Fest – Information for our Annual Arts’ Fest will be coming out shortly!  Listen to the “muse” and stay tuned.

Department Members

Mr. D. Sheeler – Department Head: dsheeler@hwdsb.on.ca

Mr. D. George – Assistant Department Head: dgeorge@hwdsb.on.ca

Ms. A. Aylsworth: aaylswor@hwdsb.on.ca

Ms. J. Crowe: jacrowe@hwdsb.on.ca

Ms. V. Dougherty: vdougher@hwdsb.on.ca

Mr. T. Elson: telson@hwdsb.on.ca

Ms. K. Fisher: kfisher@hwdsb.on.ca

Mr. C. Holman: cholman@hwdsb.on.ca

Ms. A. Hubert: ahubert@hwdsb.on.ca

Ms. A. Lepore: alepore@hwdsb.on.ca

Mr. I. McIntyre: imcintry@hwdsb.on.ca

Ms. J. Schurer: jschurer@hwdsb.on.ca

Resources
Online Citation Machine – use this website (http://citationmachine.net/) to automatically generate MLA, APA or Chicago appropriate citations for your Works Cited and Bibliography pages.

Essay Tree – check out this “extended metaphor” for growing good essays: TheEssayTree 2013

Essay Writing Workshop Package – Download this FREE Package that contains information on the creation, formatting, improvement and requirements of various essay styles.  You will need Adobe Reader to view it (available free at www.adobe.com). Essay Writing Package

Literacy Test (OSSLT) Assistance
Although literacy is a school-wide component, each year the English Department offers staff training and extensive grade 9 and intensive 10 preparation.  The test runs for only 1 day, 2.5 hours and will occur on March 31, 2016.  Successfully passing the OSSLT is a Graduation Requirement.  For additional information, go to
www.eqao.com.

Courses Offered – click the corresponding file to download the Course Outlines.

 

Textsize
A A A